How Do I Facilitate Students Trying to Create Their Own Learning Experience?

Image

I’m an English comp instructor.  I see my class as a space where students learn new skills rather than absorb content.  I feel like a coach, and I want to create an atmosphere where we think of writing as practice.  I want my students to try new things, make mistakes, wrestle with their gators, open their minds to new ways of thinking, and then walk away with skills they can apply in their other classes and in the outside world.  Thus, I’ve always thought of composition as a skills-based class rather than a content-based course.  Nevertheless, we study the art of writing and, in that, I’m definitely the expert in the room.  Ha!  Room.  Online everything is different.  

Because my online students don’t get the benefit of class discussion, I have to find a way to create a forum online.  I’ve used Laulima for blog posts, but I haven’t required students to respond to each other yet.  I just couldn’t figure out how to organize it.  Do I have them make an original post by one date and then have them make one of more responses to classmates by another?  ( I think I just answered my question.)

This idea about letting students go at their own pace scares me some.  I need papers in by certain dates; otherwise, my work load becomes impossible.  How can I be more flexible for online students? Ugh. I have to give them feedback on their papers, so if they turn in assignments at different times, I’ll lose my marbles.  Also, if the class discussions are to help them brainstorm and pre-write, how can they work ahead?  Being more flexible on timing sounds a little impossible right now.   

This idea about letting students create their own learning experience is throwing me a little. too.  Can I create a course where students get to pick and choose which assignments they want to do?  Is that possible?  Perhaps I can create multiple assignments that would satisfy the learning outcomes.  Then, students could pick which assignments to complete.  Is that what it means to let them create their own learning experience?

Published by Jennyrw

I'm a community college composition instructor at Windward Community College, but I'm also a farmer, trying to turn carbon and sunlight into food so I can eat better, serve my community, malama the aina, and mitigate some of my climate anxiety. It's working.

7 thoughts on “How Do I Facilitate Students Trying to Create Their Own Learning Experience?

  1. I think when the articles talk about flexibility, it is in regards to being available/online at various times of the day and evening, not about letting students submit assignments whenever they get around to it. IMHO, the structure provided by fixed due dates helps the students meter the work required by the course, otherwise they would leave it all to the end and become overwhelmed. Setting expectations at the beginning of the course – in this case, advising when the assignments are due – is a key component to success.

    I really like the idea of giving students some choices for deciding which subset of assignments to complete. That’s a great dose of flexibility!

  2. Hi Jenny. I don’t know if you are using G+ but if you do I suggest that you circle +Laura Gibbs who is a very experienced online teacher of a course focusing on students’ writing and many of the things she has posted about in the past are just the sorts of things you are talking about.

  3. Your posting triggered a lot of discussion, so what puzzles me is why none of the replies you’ve received are not visible in your blog i.e. under the posting. Am I’m missing something here?

    1. Veronica, I am terrible at this online blog stuff. I’ve written all kinds of things that don’t show up anywhere. I’ve been getting kind of frustrated. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, though. I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to show up or not. I’ll try to figure it out. I hope you’re doing better than me on this. If you have any tips, let me know.

      1. No, Jenny, I’m sure I’m just as confused as you are! Re where comments appear – I think they only show up where you post them i.e on Google +, your own blog, another blog, or the community wall. But it’s always nice to get a comment, so I’m continuing to post even though I’ve got not nothing to show for doing this. Will let you know if I discover a better way!

Leave a comment